“I am a product of long corridors, empty sunlit rooms, upstairs indoor silences, attics explored in solitude, distant noises of gurgling cisterns and pipes, and the noise of wind under the tiles. Also, of endless books.” ~ C.S. Lewis

Last-minute prep for shower. Will be so glad when this thing is over, and I can relax again. I get too worked up over things like this, striving for perfection, upset at myself that I’ve forgotten this detail or that detail. I am my own worst enemy, in every sense of the word. My back feels like a sack of walnuts, and my neck’s range-of-motion on the right is sorely impaired. To top if off, I don’t think that I’ve eaten today.

Enough. Real post tomorrow, mayhaps.

Peace.

Music by Matt Corby, “Lonely Boy”

                   

Secure

Let us deceive ourselves a little
while Let us pretend that air
is earth and falling lie resting
within each other’s gaze Let us

deny that flame consumes that
fruit ripens that the wave must
break Let us forget the circle’s
fixed beginning marks to the
instant its ordained end Let us

lean upon the moment and expect
time to enfold us space sustain
our weight Let us be still and

falling lie face to face and drink
each others breath Be still
Let us be still We lie secure

within the careful mind of death

~ May Swenson

2 thoughts on ““I am a product of long corridors, empty sunlit rooms, upstairs indoor silences, attics explored in solitude, distant noises of gurgling cisterns and pipes, and the noise of wind under the tiles. Also, of endless books.” ~ C.S. Lewis

  1. I hope the shower goes well.

    So my youngest and his girl are getting married… Friday. I’m glad they gave me some notice… (I found out yesterday.) And, my tuxedo cat has diabetes. So… I am invited to the wedding and the cook out, and I can bring cake. And, I’m going to try to manage the tuxedo’s diabetes by feeding him canned cat food instead of dry, because apparently they’ve decided that dry cat food has too many carbs…

    Well, maybe someday soon, I’ll have an easier time making ends meet… That is, if they plan to pay for his car insurance and health insurance (or his work will pay)… I can dream!

    I hope you wake up tomorrow and your neck feels better. Sometimes mine gets like that…

    Maybe I’ll have good dreams… My head is sort of going around in a whirlwind… Or maybe like a ping pong ball. Whack! Whack!

    1. Wow. Not much time to do anything, and lucky you. You get to bring . . . cake. If he’s getting married, then he needs to take on his insurance payments, but I know all too well how that works in real life. Maybe soon?

      Sorry about Tuxedo. Isn’t there a low-carb cat food? They have every other kind. Maybe cinnamon works for cats in the same way that it works for humans. I know that my cinnamon capsules are helping because my sugar is lower, or at least that’s what I’m telling myself.

      Neck and back are completely wrecked today. Could barely move after yesterday’s shower. Here’s hoping for a good night of dreams for you.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.