“We all look good for our age. Except for our necks.” Nora Ephron, from “I Feel Bad About My Neck”

PHOTO: Nora Ephron at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif., July 27, 2009.

                    

RIP Nora Ephron (1941-2012)

Nora Ephron, journalist, essayist, playwright, , producer, director, and screenwriter, died on June 26 of leukemia. Ephron, who was famous for her scathing wit, was 71. Well known for movies such as Julie and JuliaSleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail, and Hearburn.

                    

                   

Music by Harry Connick Jr., “It Had to be You,” from the soundtrack to When Harry Met Sally:

 

4 thoughts on ““We all look good for our age. Except for our necks.” Nora Ephron, from “I Feel Bad About My Neck”

    • Is that a bad thing, or should I have been more specific???

      Just realized that the baby will be here anytime and have suddenly gone into panic mode. YIKES!!!!!

      • Well, it depends on how you feel about Meg Ryan movies. With a very few exceptions, I could not stand, bear, tolerate, sit through a Meg Ryan movie – all that fluffy, cutie, clever-but-still-dumb blonde um… stuff… blecchh! blecchh! blecchh! (And I had to sit through a lot of them back in my film critic days)

        Now if you were one of those that LOVED Meg Ryan movies – that’s different. …

        When is the baby due??? I don’t think you should panic – I am 100% certain that you panicking will not make an iota of difference – and you’re likely to injure yourself.

        I suggest you have a nice glass of Italian red… perhaps a really good chianti slightly chilled. Sit outside and sip it, keeping an eye on the setting sun… and feel satisfied with yourself that there’s a grandbaby coming along any minute now… Have two glasses (but no more – you risk getting maudlin.)

      • I’m 50/50 on Meg Ryan movies, before I came to totally abhor romantic comedies, I did love When Harry Met Sally. I’ve never seen You’ve Got Mail or any of the other ones. But I agree on the dumb blonde role–really rubs me the wrong way.

        Can’t drink red, but I’ve been enjoying a Corona with lime in the evenings after I’ve lost most of my body weight in sweat. (Not a particularly good image, I know.)

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

