6 comments on ““A book can teach you, a conversation can assure you, a poem can seduce you, a genius can inspire you but only you can save yourself.” ~Anthony Anaxagorou

  1. Suzann says:

    Well with all these random thoughts, you might consider there is a reason you have been doing this. We all start thinking about life, what we have acomplished, what we have not done, or what we need to do. The reason could be is, because its your birthday.
    Happy birthday!

  2. I really would like to see Iceland too. There is also something in me that vibrates to the music of Icelandic composers and bands (Sigur Rós, Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Jónsi, Ólafur Arnalds).

  3. leah in NC says:

    I think you don’t want to see South America because you don’t want to get malaria or yellow fever or all those other things that the characters in books always get when they go there. I just want to see pictures of South America!!! Iceland does look beautiful, but South America has orchids and just seems more mysterious. I don’t want to visit either one, but I do want to read about every country I can… (Yes, I am not adventurous.)

    I can’t comment on any of the TV shows because I don’t watch TV. Maybe I will when the kids are out on their own.

    I filled out the FAFSA today, for fall. It seems dumb to do it when you know you won’t get it, but you have to be turned down before you can apply for the other options.

    Things I obsess about: Sinking. Whether or not I will ever get the right training for a job that is actually available and pays more than $10/hr. Doing well in my class. Having a clean kitchen. Having enough money for retirement.

    I don’t think I understand, or maybe follow, Denise Levertov’s poem. Is she saying that after death (or the end of an age, or whatever) there is a beginning? I’ve always been bad with analysis.

    Question: has an adverb always been able to modify verbs, adjectives, and other adverbs? One thing I read said that it could also modify pronouns, numerals, phrases and sentences. I’ve been taking an informal survey. When I ask “What does an adverb modify?,” everyone answers, “Verbs.” No one knows (or maybe, remembers) about the others.

    Wish I could make you a cake… and get rid of your migraine. A cake that gets rid of migraines… A small package should arrive Thursday; I wish it were more.

    I think the theory is that all medicines should be as difficult to get into as possible, thus saving lives of small children and possibly, pets. In reality, the kids and pets probably aren’t repelled as well as we’d wish, and it just frustrates the adults. The older you are the worse it is.

    Isn’t Sharon Olds beautiful?

    I toast you with my cup of tea…

    • poietes says:

      I love, love, love Sharon Olds.

      You are absolutely right about the pill thing. The kids and pets don’t really care unless you are stupid enough to leave your meds out where they can find them.

      Adverbs, had to double check this, but they modify verbs, adjectives and adverbs, as in she ran quickly and her incredibly jealous cousin was envious, but her mother clapped quite appreciatively.

      As for numerals and pronouns, I don’t think so.

      Been pondering the South America thing, and I think that you have it figured out. No one ever seems to have a wonderful time in SA countries.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

