“Something new in the air today, perhaps the struggle of the bud to become a leaf. Nearly two weeks late it invaded the air but then what is two weeks to life herself?” ~ Jim Harrison, from “Spring”

Paper Whites by  kcentannial

Paper Whites by kcentannial

                   

Two for Tuesday: Moments in Time

From the Writer’s Almanac with Garrison Keillor:

Paper-White Narcissus

Strange, how they got their name—
a boy, barely a man,
looked into sunlit water
and saw himself so beautiful
he spent his life pursuing
that treacherous reflection.
There is no greater loneliness.

Here they are, risen
from the darkness of the pebbled pool
we have made for them in a dish—
risen and broken through
the long, green capsules
to show us their faces:

they are so delicate they invite
protection or violation,
and they are blind.

~ Lisel Mueller

                   

Moth Light by beinggreen

Moth Light by beinggreen

This Moment

A neighbourhood.
At dusk.

Things are getting ready
to happen
out of sight.

Stars and moths.
And rinds slanting around fruit.

But not yet.

One tree is black.
One window is yellow as butter.

A woman leans down to catch a child
who has run into her arms
this moment.

Stars rise.
Moths flutter.
Apples sweeten in the dark.

~ Eavan Boland

2 thoughts on ““Something new in the air today, perhaps the struggle of the bud to become a leaf. Nearly two weeks late it invaded the air but then what is two weeks to life herself?” ~ Jim Harrison, from “Spring”

  1. Hi… It’s green and chilly and threatening rain, even though it’s not on the radar. I’m studying for finals. Trying to stay awake. Trying to stay warm… Son #1 dropped a knife into his thigh yesterday, spent the evening in ER getting stitches. All I have to do is look at N. and she cries, and then I cry. What a household…

    We are officially sick of cake. We’ve agreed that we never want to ever see cake again in our lives. (I wonder how long THAT will last?) We had too much cake leftover from the going-away party.

    I finally finished my book, and now have The Tombs by Clive Cussler for this month… I should be able to get it read as I’ll have two weeks off after I finish my final.

    I hope you are having a good evening… cozy and pleasant… All I want to do is take a hot shower and curl up in bed and sleep. Guess I will head that way…

    I love those pastels of the marshes, by the way, two posts back…

    • Thanks on the marsh pictures. I loved them too.

      Sick of cake . . . hmm . . . don’t know if I could ever be sick of cake. My belly should be sick of cake.

      Sorry about the knife accident. How unfortunate. Hope you do well with your finals and then you can have a few weeks of fun reading.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

