“We build too many walls and not enough bridges.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton

“We cross our bridges when we come to them and burn them behind us, with nothing to show for our progress except a memory of the smell of smoke, and a presumption that once our eyes watered.” ~ Tom Stoppard

I wish I were here instead of in the middle of a major bathroom renovation . . . Oh well . . .

Reblogged from Curious History:

The Gothic Denham Bridge

This is an old pack horse Bridge across the River Tavy. Although only a minor road, Denham Bridge Lane is the main highway not far from Buckland Monachorum, a beautiful small village on Dartmoor in South Denham, England.

source 1, 2, 3

Simon & Garfunkel, “Bridge Over Troubled Water” (from Central Park Concert)

                   

Rialto

When my mother said Let’s go down to the Rialto
it never occurred to me that the name Rialto

was odd or from anywhere else or meant anything
other than Rialto the theatre in my hometown

like the Orpheum, whose name was only a phoneme
with no trace of the god of Poetry, though

later I would learn about him and about the bridge
and realize that gods and bridges can fly invisibly

across the ocean and change their shapes and land
in one’s hometown and go on living there

until it’s time to fly again and start all over
as a perfectly clean phoneme in the heads

of the innocent and the open
on their way to the Ritz.

~ Ron Padgett

5 thoughts on ““We build too many walls and not enough bridges.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton

  1. Pingback: Radical Honesty – The Heart Of The Storm… | I Want Ice Water!

  2. I’m not sure I would leave if I made it to that area of England. Maybe I would just wander all around and never come home. Do you suppose you can eat the fish there?

  3. Wow, great quotes, great images, great poem, and an absolute treasure of a song! :D

    BTW, there was a Rialto movie theater in my hometown. I used to go there almost every Sunday, with the money my Dad bribed me into going to church with (he didn’t care if I went or not, just wanted to end the nagging from my Mom). I always thought “Rialto” was a cool name, but never thought to look it up until now…

    • Thanks, I-Man. I know about the movie, but I never saw it. That version of Bridge is my absolute favorite. Actually, the Concert in Central Park is my favorite S&G compilation.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

