Olivia, one week old

Yes, I’ve turned into one of those monsters, you know, the ones who gush and show pictures to anyone, interested or otherwise . . . You knew it would happen, didn’t you? Well, why didn’t you tell me?

So here is the la belle Olivia at one week old:

12 comments on “Olivia, one week old

  1. maureenj says:

    Hi Lita,
    Congratulations to you and the family!!!!!!!!!!!! Could anything be more joyous?
    Welcome Olivia. I have known your grandmother for some years now and you will learn as I have what a loving, strong, courageous and beautiful woman she is.Listen to her, be guided by her wisdom, read her words and cherish the special relationship that you will form.
    Much love to everyone.

    Big hugs
    Maureen

  2. yayainov says:

    What has your Mom decided to be called? Emily and Noah picked Granny for my mother.When Noah was small he called her “gwanny” in his best Elmer Fudd voice. You will now find yourself gravitating to EVERY baby department in EVERY store you enter. I’ve even been to the kid’s department in Bass Pro Shop -isn’t that sad?

    • poietes says:

      Oh, I’ve been gravitating to baby stuff since December. It drives Brett crazy as he doesn’t understand what the attraction is.

      Mom will remain Oma for grand and great grandchildren.

  3. She is…….. everything, isn’t she? Just beautiful… (and I am utterly green with envy! I am sure when I finally get a grandchild of my own I will be insufferable.) So monster away! I’ll love every minute… happy happy!

    • poietes says:

      Oh, I imagine that the photographs that you will take will make even the most jaded of individuals coo with silliness.

      Yes, she is . . . everything, and then some. Haven’t felt this way in a very long time.

  4. mosaicmoods says:

    I could have told you! She is beautiful, you’re not just seeing things. It’s almost better than having one yourself isn’t it? Just pure joy. My granddaughter is living with us (with my daughter) and at 3 1/2 years old, she delivers something good every single day. So glad you are close enough to your granddaughter to enjoy this time in person.

    By the way, my first daughter was going to be an Olivia but my “then” husband nixed it. Wonderful name!

    • poietes says:

      I love the name. It’s so strong.

      I am so glad that they live nearby and that I can watch the changes in her daily, all under the guise of helping out my daughter.

  5. yayainov says:

    From one YAYA, Grandma, Nanna, Granny, MeMaw, etc etc to another – What a beautiful baby! I can barely remember my babies that little! Rock her alot, hug her often, smooch her until she squeals – but most of all enjoy her!

    And welcome to the Grandma Club! Let the bragging begin

    Blessings,

    Me

  6. Leah in NC says:

    So cute! She looks like she’s smiling already! (And, at her Grandmother!)

    • poietes says:

      So I’m MiMi. I decided that I really didn’t like Lola as anything other than my alter-ego here, and MiMi will be easier to say.

    • poietes says:

      It’s because she was smiling so much that I decided that I had to try to take a pictures. I’m really pleased with the shadows I was able to get (unintenionally, of course) with my phone.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

