“The life I live is literally the opposite of the life I dreamed of. I love seclusion, silence, cultivated thinking and reasoned action—and I have to deal with machinations, foolish talk and vain affectation.” ~ Félix Edouard Vallotton

Felix Vallotton Evening on the Loire 1923 oil on canvas

“Evening on the Loire” (1923, oil on canvas)
by Félix Edouard Vallotton

                   

“Félix Vallotton’s art is imbued with a biting sarcasm and black humor that established him as an internationally acclaimed avant-garde artist of the modern period. His images are disturbing, revealing and captivating.” ~ Daniel Richter

Another artist with whom I am currently fascinated: Franco-Swiss painter and print-maker Félix Edouard Vallotton (1865-1925). I am drawn to his landscapes and sunsets, of course.

A good biography can be found on Totally History. A fairly comprehensive listing of his artwork can be found on The Anthenaeum website or on Museum Syndicate.

Here is a selection of my favorites:

Music by Kari Kimmel, “Dreamer”

                   

Art Sanctuary

I would always choose to be the person running
rather than the mob chasing
I would prefer to be the person laughed at
rather than the teenagers laughing
I always admired the men and women who sat down
for their rights
And held in disdain the men and women who spat
on them
Everyone deserves Sanctuary a place to go where you are
safe
Art offers Sanctuary to everyone willing
to open their hearts as well as their eyes

~ Nikki Giovanni

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

