“One of the first people I interviewed described depression as a slower way of being dead, and that was a good thing for me to hear early on because it reminded me that that slow way of being dead can lead to actual deadness, that this is a serious business. It’s the leading disability worldwide, and people die of it every day.” ~ Andrew Solomon, from Ted Talk (October 2013)

Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis Hymn III 1906 tempera and oil on paper

“Hymn III” (1906, tempera and oil on paper)
by Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis

 


Andrew Solomon Ted Talk: “Depression, the secret we share” (October 2013)

I’d like to share a wonderful video a ran across recently on tumblr. In light of recent events, I find that Solomon’s talk discusses the realities of depression in a clear, compassionate manner. In particular, I like Solomon’s discussion on alternative treatments.

“The opposite of depression is not happiness, but vitality, and it was vitality that seemed to seep away from me in that moment.” In a talk equal parts eloquent and devastating, writer Andrew Solomon takes you to the darkest corners of his mind during the years he battled depression. That led him to an eye-opening journey across the world to interview others with depression — only to discover that, to his surprise, the more he talked, the more people wanted to tell their own stories. (Filmed at TEDxMet.)

 

(Click here for transcript)

Music by Soledad Bravo, “Violin De Becho”

 

 

8 thoughts on ““One of the first people I interviewed described depression as a slower way of being dead, and that was a good thing for me to hear early on because it reminded me that that slow way of being dead can lead to actual deadness, that this is a serious business. It’s the leading disability worldwide, and people die of it every day.” ~ Andrew Solomon, from Ted Talk (October 2013)

  1. I found and watched the TED talk, and read the Yorker article. Soloman has some insightful views. I didn’t know about Soloman before this… Thanks for sharing this.

    The part about the East African treatments that involved taking people out in the sunshine, involving the whole community, drumming, and music is interesting… Might end up to be a better, cheaper treatment than all that talk therapy…

    I will have to search out his books.

  2. Hey, Lita – Interesting quotes. I’ll go look the video up and watch it. (Yours says “No video with supported format and MIME type found.”) I’ll also look up the Yorker article. Thanks, Lita. Thanks, levek.

    There are so many pieces to depression… The piece that says that 95% percent of serotonin is manufactured in the gut says to me that we are being bombarded by many things that contribute… Maybe it’s all one big Pacman game for me as I go around zapping all the threats to my well-being…

    • I wonder if it says that for everyone because on my site the video is right there. I guess I should include a link to the actual talk for those who can’t see the video. Thanks for letting me know.

      The Pacman metaphor is highly appropriate. I’ve often felt like that myself.

  3. Andrew Solomon recently published an article on the subject in the New Yorker. He said that “suicide is a crime of loneliness”.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

