“It’s not about the words. It’s about the memories lost inside the words.” ~ Virginia Woolf, from Congenial Spirits: The Selected Letters of Virginia Woolf

Jackson Pollock Number 2

“Number 2” (1951, collage oil)
by Jackson Pollock


 

“Sometimes you finish the poem, and that last piece clicks in place. Sometimes the poem is finished with you.” ~ Frederick Seidel, from The Art of Poetry No. 95

Sunday afternoon. Partly cloudy and seemingly warmer, 74 degrees.

I hate this house. It’s lovely outside, but inside it’s humid and mucky. Oh well.

I wrote this one a few days ago. It came to me, as they sometimes do, and I did a revision, and then I went back to revise again, and it refused. Sometimes the poem does what it wants, and you are left looking on, wondering how that happened . . .

Oh well . . .

This is my first time in trying to import a PDF using Google docs, so let me know if it doesn’t work, please. I think if you click on the blue left arrow, the poem shows up . . . maybe? Not sure . . .


Music by Gossling, “Riptide”

2 thoughts on ““It’s not about the words. It’s about the memories lost inside the words.” ~ Virginia Woolf, from Congenial Spirits: The Selected Letters of Virginia Woolf

  1. Clicking on the left arrow takes you back to the previous website you were looking at… I am not able to read the poem… and I really, really want to…

    Haven’t been on the computer much the past few days… Annual Doctor appts. and stuff. Had the annual dilated eye exam, so spent that evening reading… The new P.A. says very, very little and doesn’t ask any questions or anything. As usual, I forgot to ask a couple questions I wanted to ask.

    Just zipping along, reading everything. I am on The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

    It’s very humid in my house, too. I need a new heat pump, I guess, but will my bills go up afterward?

    Hope your week is pleasant…

    • I’ll work on trying to get the poem in. I need it to be a pdf to keep the breaks as I have been unable to figure out how to do that on wordpress. On my page, the poem appears with right and bottom directional arrows. I’ll check it out on someone else’s computer. Thanks.

      Loved that book, all three of them, actually.

      We don’t have a heat pump, just a very, very old gas furnace.

Thoughts, opinions, ideas?

